STAMPEDE Brian Castner

Publishing April 13, 2021

Stampede: Gold Fever and Disaster in the Klondike

A gripping account of the epic human tragedy that was the great Klondike Gold Rush of 1897. One hundred thousand men and women rushed north, into the teeth of winter, to make their fortunes. Very few got rich, but many thousands died in the attempt.

“A freight-train of a story that thunders along with all the energy of the tumultuous events it conjures. Sharply told from historical sources, Stampede is a saga of need, greed, and shattered fantasies, and the dark side of the American Dream.”

Caroline Alexander

Author of , The Endurance

Brian Castner

Author 

Brian Castner is a nonfiction writer, former Explosive Ordnance Disposal officer, and veteran of the Iraq War. 

“Castner writes in the tradition of Orwell and Kapuściński.”
Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya

Author of , The Watch

bio
the road ahead brian castner
All the Ways We Kill and Die
Disappointment River by Brian Castner
the long walk brian castner